Try ITIL V4 Lite For Free - Discount Code WEBLITE

About ITIL® V3



ITIL V3 was the third version of ITIL, released in 2007 and updated in 2011. The certification scheme provides a modular approach to the ITIL framework, based around the service lifecycle that comprises of Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation, and Continual Service Improvement.

ITIL V3 currently has five levels of qualification:

Intermediate (5 Lifecycle Courses / 4 Capability Courses)

These levels gradually give you a deeper understanding of ITIL. The level you go up to entirely depends on you and your organisation’s need to better understand the ITIL framework.

The Foundation level will offer you a general understanding of the key elements, concepts and terminology of the ITIL life cycle, including how each stage links to one another and their wider contribution to service management.

Expert and Master levels are for those who want to demonstrate knowledge of ITIL in its entirety, including the ability to demonstrate knowledge and understanding of how and why you have personally implemented ITIL frameworks in your organisation. The levels in between help build on the knowledge you gained during the Foundation level.

You can find a visual certification map for ITIL V3 here.

If you already hold a number ITIL V3 credits, find out how you can use them to transition to ITIL V4 Managing Professional here.

Recommended Reading

Here is a list of the core volumes that accompany the ITIL V3 courses:

Lifecycle Stream

ITIL V3 Service Design
ITIL V3 Service Transition
ITIL V3 Service Operation
ITIL V3 Service Strategy
ITIL V3 Continual Service Improvement

For Managing Across The Lifecycle module, you can purchase all of the above core volumes in one package:

ITIL Lifecycle Publication Suite

Capability Stream

ITIL V3 Operational Support & Analysis
ITIL V3 Planning, Protection & Optimisation
ITIL V3 Service Offerings & Agreements
ITIL V3 Release, Control & Validation